Apply to be this semester’s Student Commencement Speaker!

If you have been an active member of the ASU community throughout your years on campus and feel that you are the right person to speak on behalf of your graduating class, this is the opportunity for you!

To apply to become the speaker for December Commencement, please find the link to the application by clicking here.

This application includes all the information you need regarding minimum qualifications for applying as well as all of the required materials. Please email with any questions. Applications will be due Monday, November 9th, at 5PM to Kayla Goldberg in the AS&F Office in the SUB.

15-16 Senators

The following is the list of our current Senators for the 15-16 academic year. If you are looking to get involved or have your voice be heard in AS&F, these are some great people to talk to! And as always, if you want to become a Senator yourself, it is not too late. Drop by the AS&F office or send us an email at and we will get you started on that process.

Non-Traditional Senator
Gloria Quintana –

Music Senator
Leanne Roath –

Business Senators
Joseph Hovey –
John Owsley –
Alex Lopez –
Brenna Rivale –

HAPPS Senator
Sean Erice –

Sociology Senator
Nataly Acurio –

First Year Senators
Sky Edmonds –
Aaron Davis –

Faculty/Staff Senator
Dr. Nick Saenz –

Grizzly Activity Board Senator
Matt Tulley –

English, Theater, and Communications Senator
Lauren Trujillo –

Student Athlete Advisor Committee Senator
Morgan Fitzgibbon –

Chemistry, Computer, and Math Senator
Caroline Steen –

Final Elections Results

After vetting and signature collection the following are the final results for the 2015-2016 AS&F.


Patrick Cleary

Vice President of External Affairs

Azarel Madrigal

 Vice President of Internal Affairs

Heather Shoats

Senator at Large

Elizabeth Streeter

Non-Traditional Senator

Gloria Quintana

 Music Senator

Leanne Roath

Nursing Senator

Darling Najar

Business Senator

Joseph  Hovey

2015-2016 AS&F Election Results

Total votes cast:  161


Patrick Cleary

Vice President of External Affairs

Azarel Madrigal

 Vice President of Internal Affairs

Heather Shoats*

Senator at Large

Elizabeth Streeter*

Non-Traditional Senator

Gloria Quintana*

HAPPS Senator

TIE** Justin Chase* and Cameron King*

 Music Senator

Leanne Roath*

Nursing Senator

Darling Najar*

Faculty and Staff Senator

Sheryl Abeyta*

Natalie Rogers*

Jerusalem Benavides*

Business Senator

Joe Hovey*

Elizabeth Streeter*


* These candidates won through a write in campaign.  The candidates must still accept, be vetted, and gather signatures before they can officially take office. The official announcement will be made at the April 27th AS&F meeting.


**The race for HAPPS Senator in a tie. A run off will be necessary if both candidates choose to remain in the running. More information will be available next week.

Important Dates

Friday April 3rd: deadline for elections packets for Senate and E-board elections. Packets are located on the AS&F Door.
Monday April 6thAS&F Special Candidate Approval meeting 6pm BUS 142
Tuesday April 7th-Sunday April 12thCampaigning
Monday April 13th: Fourth Quarterly Meeting at 6:00pm in BUS 142
Monday April 13th-Thursday April 16thElections. A link will be emailed out and we will be tabling in the SUB
Friday April 17th: Election results announced through portal, AS&F blog, AS&F Facebook.
Monday April 27th: Final AS&F Meeting of the year

Election Information

Election season is upon us!

Packets are now available on the door of the AS&F office in the Student Life Center.

Senators must get 50 signatures from AS&F members and Exec Board Members need 100

Remember the Senate make up has changed and now every department has representation!

Time Line

April 3rd: Packets due by 5pm

April 6th: Candidate Approval Meeting 6pm BUS 142

April 7th-12th: Campaigning

April 13-16th: Election. (Link sent electronically and at the table in the SUB)

April 17th: Results Announced

Proposed AS&F Changes

The AS&F executive team is proposing two constitutional changes to be voted on at the March 9th AS&F meeting. These amendments will change the make up of the senate to more accurately reflect the current departmental make up. The second amendment will remove the requirement to post all constitutional amendment in the Paw Print.

The language for these changes can found here. is powered by WordPress µ | Spam prevention powered by Akismet