ASC Announces the Presidential Teacher Award Finalists

Linda Relyea
Adams State College

Now in its fourth year, the Adams State College Presidential Teacher Award acknowledges professors dedication to their students and recognizes outstanding undergraduate teaching, advising, and mentoring.
In the fall, Dr. Michael Mumper, senior vice president for Enrollment Management/Program Development, formed a committee of undergraduate students, Kayla Lanoue, earth science; Lindsey Nelson, psychology; Clayton Street, business; and Rose Stroback, music – they requested Adams State students nominate their favorite professors by submitting a 100-word essay.
The six finalists are Dr. Carol Guerrero-Murphy, professor of English; Renee Beeton, assistant professor of chemistry; Dr. Jared Beeton, assistant professor of earth sciences; Armando Valdez, assistant professor of business; Dr. Mari Centeno, associate professor of political science; and Dr. Richard Goddard, associate professor of history and archaeology.
This year more than 74 nominations were submitted by students, and 38 different faculty members were nominated. The three winners will be announced later in the spring semester.
The committee members will observe the finalists in their classrooms and conduct personal interviews. During the interviews, the candidates will discuss their teaching philosophy, classroom practices, non-classroom advising and mentoring activities, and the Presidential Teacher course the finalist is proposing.
The Presidential Teacher will receive $1500 to support his or her professional development and the opportunity to teach a special Presidential Teacher Course during the next academic year. Mumper said the winners will be announced after spring break. is powered by WordPress µ | Spam prevention powered by Akismet