2009-2010 Adams State College Athletes of the Year

As the year wraps up, it is time that we chose Athletes of the Year.   As we normally would chose one Athlete of the Year, the sports editor thought it fair to elect a male and a female Athlete of the Year since it is just so hard to pick just one.
The Grizzlies’ sporting teams had some great contentors for this honor but ultimently Rueben Mwei of the men’s cross country, indoor track and field, and outdoor track and field team has been named as the male Athlete of the Year.
Mwei  helped lead the Grizzly men to the teams second straight team National Title as he nipped Daniel Kirowa by less than a second at the finish line to win the individual title. Mwei then was a pivotal member of the indoor track team that won the school’s first indoor national title down in New Mexico. He is currently on roll for the outdoor track as he has already broke his old school record in the 3,000-meter steeplechase.
Indira Spence has been a terror for the Grizzly tracksters as she has has crushed Adams State records on the track and was the Grizzlies top contendor at the indoor track championships.
These two great athletes have won this honor over some other top athletes that dawn the Adams State green. Other nomoniees for the women’s honor included, Kristen McGlynn of the ASC cross country team, Darcy Jennings-Calkins of the ASC volleyball team, Ashley Sales of the ASC women’s sovver team, Kendell Martin of the ASC women’s golf team, Vera Jo Bustos of the ASC women’s basketball team, Lauren Griffen of the inagueral women’s swim team,  Katelyn Lovato of the ASC softball team and Alicia Nelson of the ASC outdoor track team. On the men’s side, Mwei defeated Oscar Villa of the football team,  Jarad Thomas of the inagueral men’s soccer team, Jonathan Atencio of the men’s golf team,  Nick Fox of the men’s basketball team, Arsenia Barksdale of the wrestling team and Aaron Braun of the indoor track team.
The honor was voted on by ASC athletic administation, coaches and key media members.

blogs.adams.edu is powered by WordPress µ | Spam prevention powered by Akismet