Many honored at Employee Recognition Ceremony

2012 Presidential Teachers

Jones named emeritus professor

Dr. Marty Jones, professor of chemistry, was awarded emeritus status upon his retirement this spring after 23 years at ASC. Jones, known throughout the campus and outlying community for his involvement and positive attitude, will be missed by students, faculty, and staff. Briana Lewis, a senior music major, took Jones’ introduction to chemistry class this semester after a friend convinced her to take his class. She went from dreading chemistry to enjoying the subject. “Dr. Jones shows examples of chemistry in the real world and does not over complicate the subject.”

Emeritus Professor of Chemistry, Dr. Marty Jones
Benson, Centeno & Robison named Presidential Teachers
2012 Presidential Teacher Award winners: Dr. Beth Robison, Dr. Rob Benson, Dr. Mari Centeno

A quarter decade of combined experience and a shared purpose to foster the love of learning — Adams State College professors Dr. Rob Benson, professor of earth science; Dr. Mari Centeno, associate professor of political science; and Dr. Beth Robison, assistant professor of music, received the 2012 Presidential Teacher Award, recognizing outstanding undergraduate teaching, advising, and mentoring.

All had similar reactions upon hearing they were selected. Benson: “shocked and honored,” Centeno: inspired to “further live up to the honor,” and Robison: “surprised, humbled, and grateful to her students.”

Read more.

Faculty tenure & promotions

The following faculty were recently promoted and/or tenured this semester: Dr. Jared Beeton, tenured associate professor of earth science; Dr. Laura Bruneau, tenured associate professor of counselor education; Dr. Zena Buser, associate professor of business; Dr. Mark Finney, tenured associate professor of mass communication; Dr. Aaron Abeyta, full professor of English; Dr. Robert Demski, full professor of psychology; Dr. Richard Goddard, full professor of social studies.

Exemplary Faculty
Dr. Brent King

Dr. Leslie Alvarez and Dr. Brent King,both associate professors of psychology, were recognized for exemplary performance in view of their teaching effectiveness, scholarly/creative activity, and service.

Dr. Leslie Alvarez
Employees honored for service to ASC

The 2012 Adams State Employee Recognition Ceremony, held April 25, recognized the contributions and years of service of the following employees

25 Years

  • Rex Filer
  • Donna Griego

20 Years

  • Linda Jones
  • Lori Laske
  • Tammy Lopez
  • Ken Marquez
  • Liz Martinez
  • Paul Newman
  • Brent Ybarrondo

15 Years

  • Rob Benson
  • Beneranda Chacon
  • Sherry Duran
  • Otis Hager
  • Margery Herrington
  • Mary Hoffman
  • Charlie Johnson
  • David Mazel
  • Demetrius Vigil
  • Grace Young

10 Years

  • Traci Bishop
  • Roger Eriksen
  • Dick Goddard
  • Karla Hardesty
  • Heather Heersink
  • Joe Mestas
  • Tracy Rogers
  • Donna Stout

5 Years

  • Lorraine Aragon
  • Jared Beeton
  • Renee Beeton
  • Lisa Brown
  • Laura Bruneau
  • Zena Buser
  • Mark Finney
  • Melissa Gastinger
  • Dale Goodrich
  • Larry Joe Hunt
  • Robert Lopez
  • Renee Monaghan
  • Diane Mondragon
  • Michael Mumper
  • Jenna Neilsen
  • Michael Rael
  • Stephen Roberds
  • Roselie Schlaufman
  • Jeremy Taylor
  • Jamie Van Valkenburg
  • Joel Shults
  • Dervin Taylor
  • Dolores Vigil
  • Manny Wasinger

Author: jmwaecht

Assistant to the President for Communications Editor/Designer of alumni magazine - A-Stater