Faculty & Staff News

Professional Accomplishments

Professors Renee Beeton, chemistry; Carol Guerrero-Murphy, English; and Mark Finney, mass communication, led a workshop on constructivist listening strategies in the classroom (such as dyads and Personal Experience Panels) at the 2012 On Course Conference for learner-centered educators in Long Beach, CA, April 27 – 28. The conference is presented by Cengage Learning and is hosted by several colleges and universities. The ASC professors will discuss their work with the Fast Track students in the June 2011 program funded by Title V. Beeton, Guerrero-Murphy and Finney all contribute to the CELT working group, which is committed to spreading strategies for promoting inclusion and equity.

Housing & Residence Life residence directors Kendall Clements, Alex Maffucci, Pete McDill, and assistant director Mark Pittman attended a15-hour mediation training, March 23-24 through the Center for Restorative Programs in Alamosa.

The following faculty and staff attended the 2012 Higher Learning Commission Annual Conference in Chicago, March 30-April 3:

  • Dr. Frank Novotny, VP for Academic Affairs
  • Andrea Benton-Maestas, director of Institutional Reporting
  • Karla Hardesty, program director, Enrollment Mgt.
  • Dr. Deborah White, director, Student Support Services
  • Traci Bishop, asst. to the asst. VP for Extended Studies – Operations
  • Dr. Susan Varhely, professor and chair of Counselor Education
  • Walter Roybal, asst. VP of Extended Studies-Academics
  • Ken Marquez, asst. VP for Student Affairs

The conference this year focused primarily on revision of the Criteria for Accreditation, as well as development of the Standard and Open Pathways for Reaffirmation of Accreditation. All attended the General Program, and several also attended the Pre-Conference Workshop specifically regarding the Open Pathway.

Dr. Jared Beeton, asst. professor of earth sciences, received a research grant from the Denver Museum of Nature and Science to conduct geoarchaelogical research with Adams State students this summer. The title of the grant is “The potential for Early Human Cultural Deposits in the San Luis Valley.”. He said the group will seek evidence of the first humans that arrived in North America, generally referred to as pre-Clovis. The objective of the field work is to evaluate the potential for early human (pre-Clovis) cultural deposits at three to four different Valley locations. Potential sites include the Villa Grove Mammoth Site, Magna Site, and the Mr. Peat Site. Adams State students from the earth sciences and anthropology programs will lead the investigations, under Beeton’s direction.

In addition, Beeton will serve as coordinator of the campus organization EARTH (Environmental Action for Resources, Transportation, and Health) for next year.

Murleen Goodrich, library technician, will have her second children’s book Think! Pete published soon by Authorhouse. The book tells of a 6-year-old boy whose feet are sometimes faster than his head; however it shows that kids are capable of deeper thought than we sometimes give them credit for. Her book, Red Boots, was published in 2008.

Dr. Tracey L. Robinson, professor of HPPE; Benjamin Kern, M.S., adjunct instructor of HPPE; and graduate student Dustin Holman recently attended the Rocky Mountain American College of Sports Medicine (RMACSM) conference in Colorado Springs. Robinson and Kern presented a poster of their research entitled “Effects of a 7-week beta-alanine supplementation on anaerobic power output in female collegiate soccer, softball, and volleyball players.” As a RMACSM Board member, Robinson was involved in many aspects of the conference, including planning the conference, organizing sessions, judging student posters, and networking with students and colleagues.

Eileen Tilton, admin. asst. for the Department of History, Government and Philosophy was nominated and approved for Honorary Membership into Alpha Zeta Kappa, the Adams State College Chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, the National Political Science Honor Society. She will be officially initiated at a May 4 ceremony.

 New Employees
  • Nathan Paul Pacheco, admin . asst. I, Counselor Education
  • Nicole LeBoeuf, librarian, Nielsen Library
  • Uriah Valdez, program asst., Title V
  • Trevor Wikre, asst. football coach
  • Cheryl Ravens, admin¬† asst. III, Art
  • William Lindquist, asst. football coach
  • Trevor Turner, transfer student coordinator, Records


Author: jmwaecht

Assistant to the President for Communications Editor/Designer of alumni magazine - A-Stater